The Importance Of The Ethernet Cable Category

We all know that to play (especially online), due to latency and bandwidth issues, it is infinitely more advisable to do so connected by Ethernet cable than by Wi-Fi. Some do not know that there are different categories of Ethernet cable and that by saving a few money, we can considerably worsen our experience. When it comes to buying an Ethernet cable, few of us take its category into account. It is a very common mistake that I also made very recently, so I decided to write this article to help out.

Like all technology, that of Ethernet cables which you can plug into Cisco UCS C220 M4 for example also improves over time. Connection capacity improves year by year, and cables must be adapted to take advantage of current bandwidths and latencies. Ethernet

cables are divided into categories according to their technical capabilities. For example, an Ethernet cable Category 3 only provides 10 Mbps bandwidth. This is much less than what a decent average connection would provide today and cause a bottleneck.

That is why it is always advisable to purchase wiring with moderately loose limitations concerning our connection. If you are using an old cable that came with your first ADSL router, we recommend that you check its capacity if you need to update it.

Here is the characteristics of the different categories of Ethernet cables which is Category, Maximum speed (at 100 meters), Frequency, Discharge capacity

Category 3 -10 Mbps-16 MHz     1.2 MB / s

Category 5 – 10/100 Mbp – 100 MHz – 12 MB / s

Category 5e – 1000 Mbps – 100 MHz – 125 MB / s

Category 6 – 1000 Mbps – 250 MHz – 125 MB / s

Category 6a – 10,000 Mbps – 500 MHz – 1.25 Gbps

Category 7 – 10,000 Mbps – 600 MHz – 1.25 Gbps

Category 8 – 40000 Mbps – 2,000 MHz – 5 Gbps

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *